Runners, Teams Win Titles At State Cross Country Meet

October 22, 2016 6:30 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

JAMESTOWN, N.D. – The 2016 North Dakota High School Activities Association State Cross Country Meet was held Saturday, Oct. 22 at Jamestown’s Parkhurst Recreation Area.

Four team state champions were crowned.

Bismarck Century won the Class A boys state championship scoring a 62. The Patriots’ victory snaps a streak of 11-straight titles previously won by Bismarck High (2005-2015).

Fargo Davies won the Class A girls state championship scoring a 71. The Eagles last won a state championship in 2011. Davies now has won three state championships in program history (2010, 2011 and 2016).

New Town continued its dominance in Class B boys cross country winning with a score of 18 to capture its fifth straight state title.

Hillsboro-Central Valley won the Class B girls state championship with a score of 133. The Burros have now won six straight titles as a program.

Four individual state champions were also crowned Saturday.

Fargo Davies senior Hunter Lucas won the Class A boys race in a time of 15 minutes, 30.40 seconds.

Grand Forks Central senior Karly Ackley won the Class A girls race in 17:13.15.

New Town junior Jalen Chase won the Class B boys race in a time of 15:49.53.

Hillsboro-Central Valley freshman Reagan Baesler won the Class B girls race in 18:11.80.

Class A Boys Results

Class A Girls Results

Class B Boys Results

Class B Girls Results

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.