2017 NDHSAA State Class B Speech Tournament Results

May 2, 2017 4:00 pm

The 65th Annual NDHSAA sponsored State Class B Speech Tournament was held at Mandan High School on Saturday, April 29, 2017. All participants qualified from one of ten regional tournaments or at an invitational tournament held during the season.

Enderlin/Maple Valley took first place with 67.5 points; Richardton-Taylor was awarded second with 57 points; Bowman County was third with 56 points; Rugby was fourth with 35points; Milnor was fifth with 32 points; and Harvey/Wells County was sixth with 27 pts.

The Class B Coach of the Year was Teri Egan from Enderlin/Maple Valley.       

The following are the top place winners in each of the 14 categories.

Extemporaneous Speaking:  1st- Riley Abrahamson, Bowman County; 2nd- Laurel Schley, Shiloh Christian;  3rd- Thor Skjelver, Rugby; 4th-Galilee Mengesha, Shiloh Christian; 5th-Anya Baranko, Richardton-Taylor;  6th- Emily Belland, Bowman County;  7th-Ifedayo Omotunde, Park River; 8th-Daniel Coffinet-Crean, Minto.

Radio Broadcasting:  1st-Savanna  Friedt, Carrington; 2nd-Kailer Riedman, May-Port CG; 3rd- Ben Bohn, Richardton-Taylor; 4th- Aiden Halleen, Bowman County; 5th-Zach Howatt, Northern Cass; 6th-Cassandra Rostvet, Hatton-Northwood; 7th-George Kessel, Dickinson Trinity/New England; 8th-Hannah Anderson, Milnor.

Extemporaneous Programmed Reading: 1st-Zach Howatt, Northern Cass; 2nd-Kelsey Perdue, Ray; 3rd-Shelby Kanski, South Heart; 4th- Gabriel Lothspeich, Wyndmere; 5th- Hope Osborn, Oakes;  6th- Megan Tichy, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 7th-Andrea Buechler, Harvey/Wells County; 8th-Alissa Volk, Rugby.

Storytelling: 1st-Blaine Schriock, Flasher; 2nd-Kate Heidlebaugh, Rugby; 3rd-Brooke Peterson, Bowman County; 4th- Alix Larsen, Milnor; 5th-Alex Jorgensen, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 6th-Sydney Lunde, Kindred; 7th-Alexa Zinke, Enderlin/Maple Valley;  8th- Adelyn Emter, Dickinson Trinity/New England.

Serious Duo:  1st-Shelby Floberg/Josie Wicks, Richardton-Taylor; 2nd- William Egan/Zane Gruba, Enderlin/Maple Valley;  3rd-Samantha Nordmark/Billie Lentz; 4th-Kailer Riedman/Cailee Peterson, May-Port CG;  5th-Andrew Erickson/Isaac Steinke, Hope-Page; 6th-Macy Conrad/Carson Herbert, Thompson; 7th-Elizabeth Petersen/Rachel Dominguez, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 8th-Samantha Zwirner/Hailey Zwirner, LaMoure.

Poetry:  1st-Aiden Halleen, Bowman County; 2nd-Alexis Odermann, Lisbon; 3rd- Brielle Wakefield, Harvey/ Wells County; 4th-Eric Bergeman, Sargent Central; 5th-Cailee Peterson, May-Port CG; 6th-Sierra Kelley, Richardton-Taylor;  7th- Thomas Mehrer, Sargent Central;  8th-Carlie Pachinger, Dickinson Trinity/New England.

Dramatic Interpretation:  1st- Arcilla Davis, Richardton-Taylor;  2nd- William Egan, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 3rd-Josie Wicks, Richardton-Taylor; 4th-Eric Romero, Milnor; 5th- Brianna Maddock, Kindred;  6th- Amber Messer, Mott-Regent; 7th – Ethan Herner, Dickinson Trinity/New England.

Inform:   1st- Brooke Getz, Bowman County; 2nd-Emily Ehlis, Dickinson Trinty/New England; 3rd-Laurana Lynds, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 4th-Kimberlee Leier, Rugby; 5th-Alicia Hellman, Harvey/Wells County; 6th-Brittney Muske, LaMoure; 7th- Zach Crawford, Grafton; 8th-Mariah McLaughlin, Beulah.

Humorous Interpretation:  1st-Eric Romero, Milnor;  2nd-Luke Hurt, South Heart; 3rd-Connor Grenier, Rolette; 4th- Drew Nordby, Rolette; 5th- Daniel Young, New Salem-Almont; 6th- Samantha Nordmark, Rolla; 7th-Layla Anderson, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 8th-Joshua Sunstrom, Grafton.

Humorous Duo:  1st-Faith Christensen/Brooke Christensen, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 2nd- Shelby Floberg/Micki Hoselton, Richardton-Taylor; 3rd- Maria Mack/Kate Heidlebaugh, Rugby; 4th- Ryan Janish/Megan Tichy, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 5th- Dalton Schnabel/Heather Ukaonu, Kulm; 6th- Keith Braddock II/Remington Nohr, Stanley/Powers Lake; 7th-Ashley Steffenson/Kylee Cline, Beulah; 8th-Alex Jorgensen/Elisabeth Jorgensen, Enderlin/Maple Valley.

Serious Prose:  1st- Arcilla Davis, Richardton-Taylor; 2nd- Brielle Wakefield, Harvey/Wells County; 3rd- Alexis Odermann, Lisbon; 4th-Faith Christensen, Enderlin/Maple Valley;  5th- Devany Stutlien, Harvey/Wells County; 6th- Margie Silbernagel, South Heart; 7th-Lindsey Narum, Bowman County; 8th-Hannah Anderson, Milnor.

Speech to Persuade:  1st- Brooke Getz, Bowman County; 2nd- Alexus Mahlum, Bowbells; 3rd-Twyla Gross, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 4th-Alexandra Klein, Rugby; 5th-Thor Skjelver, Rugby; 6th-Katie Kempel, Central Cass; 7th- Mackenzie Holkesvig, Hatton-Northwood; 8th- Annika Towe, Center-Stanton.

Impromptu:  1st- Laurel Schley, Shiloh Christian; 2nd- Kelsey Perdue, Ray; 3rd-Madeleine Hill, Enderlin/Maple Valley; 4th- Hope Osborn, Oakes; 5th-Ifedayo Omotunde, Park River; 6th-George Kessel, Dickinson Trinity/New England;  7th-Josten Hofner, Beulah;  8th-Nicholas Totenhagen, North Sargent.

Speech to Entertain: 1st-Alix Larsen, Milnor; 2nd- Margie Silbernagel, South Heart; 3rd-Braeden Knutson, Central Cass; 4th- Isaiah Jilek, Dickinson Trinity/New England; 5th-Camry Dunker, Central Cass; 6th-Svea Pearson, Watford  City;  7th- Joshua Seibel, Harvey/Wells County; 8th-Alaina Olson, Harvey/Wells County.