LaMoure's Anna Holen named 2017-18 NDHSAA/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student

May 3, 2017 1:00 pm

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – Anna Holen, a junior at LaMoure High School was named the 2017-2018 North Dakota High School Activities Association/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student. Interviews were held for the finalists in Valley City on Wednesday, May 3.

Isaac Spanjer of Fargo North High School was chosen runner-up. The other finalists are:

Grace Zimmerman - Hazen High School
Lili Robinson - Minto High School
Rachel Hill - Langdon Area High School
Abby Freeland - May-Port CG High School

The six finalists were selected from applications sent in by high school principals from across the state.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student program was developed to recognize deserving young people who are the “backbone” of interscholastic activities, not necessarily the leader, but the individual whose participation in high school activities strengthens the program for participants, the school and the community. Applicants are students entering their senior year. The student must be a participant as a player, manager, statistician or other role in at least one NDHSAA sponsored activity. The student must be a good citizen and role model to his/her peers as well as a contributor to his/her school and community.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student recipient receives a medallion and a Farmers Union Insurance sponsored $2,000 scholarship to the college of his/her choice. He/she is invited to be the Grand Marshall of the NDHSAA “Parade of Champions” as well as participating in other activities such as serving as the NDHSAA spokesperson for High School Activities Month, promoting the values of activity programs and participating in awarding of trophies at major NDHSAA state contests. The runner-up will receive a medallion and a $1,000 scholarship. The other four finalists receive a medallion, a $500 scholarship to the college of his/her choice, publication in the Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events. The top two finalists will also be awarded a trip to Indianapolis in late July for a leadership conference. 

The following students were honored as their school’s 2017-2018 Distinguished Student and submitted applications to the NDHSAA for consideration as the NDHSAA/Farmers Union Distinguished Student.

Jared Franek - West Fargo HS
William Egan - Enderlin HS
Mikayla Koenig - Hope-Page HS
Anyssa Hayden - Northern Cass HS
Darby Swanson - North Sargent HS
Zachary Bueling - WF Sheyenne HS
Gabriel Lothspeich - Wyndmere HS
Laura Biewer - Kindred HS
Innocent Nsengiyumva - Fargo Davies
Lauren Ostlie - Fargo South HS
Race Kath - Hankinson HS
Isaac Spanjer - Fargo North HS
Jordan Mahrer - Wahpeton HS
Tiffany Meier - Zeeland HS
Jacob Bitz - Napoleon HS
Anna Holen - LaMoure HS
Mackenzie Heflin - Gackle-Streeter HS
Bailey Skjefte - Oakes HS
Megan Gaffney - Jamestown HS
Riley Mattheis - Linton HS
Ashton Iszler - Kidder County-Steele HS
Lauren Koski - Wing HS
Shaun Heier - Edgeley HS
Walker Bruns - Ellendale HS
Connor Fitzgerald - Lisbon HS
Abby Slyter - Valley City HS
Sydney Anderson - Killdeer HS
Paige Ehlis - New England HS
Abigail Hintz - Center-Stanton HS
Grace Zimmerman - Hazen HS
Amanda Odegard - Wilton HS
Paloma Saldana - Dickinson Trinity HS
Kennedy Zuroff - Glen Ullin HS
Taylor Roehl - Grant County HS
Abigail Wilhelmi - Beach HS
Meggie Fischer - Bowman County HS
Kenadee Kudrna - South Heart HS
Kiana Schatz - Hebron HS
Mikka Haugeberg - Watford City HS
Tristin Lunde - Rugby HS
Alexis Gullet - Bottineau HS
Tanner Thompson - Ray HS
Taylor Pennington - New Town HS
Connor Templeton - Minot HS
Travis Dean - Stanley HS
Erin Schwalk - Turtle Lake-Mercer HS
Jacob Rodin - Kenmare HS
Caitlyn Vogel - Des Lacs-Burlington HS
Benjamin Bagwell - South Prairie HS
Madison Christian - Finley Sharon HS
Hunter Sand - Dakota Prairie HS
Jordyn Worley - Munich HS
Lauren Roscoe-New Rockford-Sheyenne
Lauren Topp - Midkota HS
Arnikka Thompson - Leeds HS
Brenna Bulman - North Star HS
Rachel Hill - Langdon Area HS
Phillip Steffan - Lakota HS
Kerington Lee - Maddock HS
Emerson Hoornaert - Carrington HS
Ben Johnson - Northwood HS
Erika Thorson - Thompson HS
Justin Hoffmann - Larimore HS
Thomas Myskowski - Hatton Eielson HS
Rachel Torrey - Grand Forks Central HS
Lili Robinson - Minto HS
Elaina Swartz - Park River Area HS
Taylor Stegman - Drayton HS
Grace Dryburgh - Hillsboro HS
Francine Shaft - Grand Forks Red River
Abby Freeland - May-Port CG HS
Austin Urlaub - Cavalier HS
Josie Wicks - Richardton-Taylor HS