Jim Haussler to receive NDHSAA Distinguished Service Award

April 10, 2018 11:30 am

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – Jim Haussler, former Activities Director at Bismarck Public Schools, has been named a recipient of the North Dakota High School Activities Association Distinguished Service Award.

The NDHSAA Board of Directors approved Haussler’s nomination Tuesday, April 10 in Valley City. The NDHSAA’s Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have made positive contributions to interscholastic activities in the state.

Haussler served as Activities Director for Bismarck Public Schools from 1992 through his retirement in 2015 (23 years). During his tenure, the Demons of Bismarck High School and Patriots of Bismarck Century High School won a combined total of 232 region titles and 128 state championships. Prior to serving as AD in Bismarck, Haussler taught and coached at Finley-Sharon High School and New England High School. He also accepted his first administrative position at Aberdeen Central High School in 1983 serving as the school’s assistant principal and athletic director. From 1984-1992, Haussler served as assistant principal for both Bismarck High and Bismarck Century.

In 1996 and 2006 Haussler was named North Dakota Athletic Director of the Year and was recognized as Regional Athletic Director of the Year on four occasions. Haussler became a Certified Athletic Administrator (CAA) in 1997. In 2002, Haussler was recognized by the North Dakota Coaches Association with the Special Recognition Award. He was nominated as a finalist for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Athletic Director of the Year in 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016. He was named National Athletic Administrator of the Year in 2016.

In 2011, he was inducted into the North Dakota Track and Field Hall of Fame. Haussler was inducted into the North Dakota High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2013. He was recognized with the University of Jamestown’s Rollie Greeno Award for excellence in education in 2014. In 2015, Jim was awarded the Special Achievement Award by the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. That same year, the new gymnasium at Bismarck’s Legacy High School was named the ‘James Haussler’ Gymnasium. Jim was inducted into the North Dakota Interscholastic Administrators Association (NDIAAA) Hall of Fame in 2016.

Haussler managed 237 NDHSAA regional and state tournaments. He is a member of the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (retired member), North Dakota High School Coaches Association (NDHSCA), North Dakota Officials Association (NDOA) and Good Shepard Lutheran Church. He served as the chairman of the Bismarck Community Bowl Authority (BCBA) from 1997-2015. Haussler currently manages the MDU Resources Bismarck Community Bowl.

Haussler is a 1973 graduate of Monango High School in Monango, North Dakota. He obtained his Bachelor of Arts Degree from Jamestown College in 1978 with a double major in History/Political Science and Health, Physical Education and Recreation (HPER). Haussler was a four-year letter winner in football for the Jimmies and served as captain his senior year. Haussler obtained his Master degrees in Educational Administration and HPER from South Dakota State University in 1983 and his Doctorate in Educational Administration from the University of North Dakota in 1994.

Jim and his wife, Julie, a retired teacher at Mandan Middle School, have five children: Jeremy (married, works for North Dakota National Guard), Jon (married, works for Arizona National Guard), Jamie (teacher in Roberts, Montana), Tessa (social worker in Twin Cities) and Cara, a sophomore at North Dakota State University. They also have five grandchildren: Madison (16), Jaxon (11), Cooper (9), Colt (9) and Hadley (8).

Previous NDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Winners:

Wayne Sanstead, Bismarck (2017)
Odean Olson, Jamestown (2012-13)
Ed Lockwood, Fargo (2012-13)
Sheryl Solberg, Valley City (2011)
Dave Carlsrud, Valley City (2010)
Mike Berg, Grand Forks (2010)
Robert Hetler, Valley City (2008)
Susan Anderson, Richardton-Taylor (2007)
Alton Nygaard, Des Lacs-Burlington (2007)
Bill Rogers, Fargo (2006)
Gelaine Orvik, Fargo (2005)
NBC North Dakota (2004)
Susan Carlsrud, Valley City (2001)
Minot Daily News (2000)
Alida D. Posein, Valley City (1998)
Rod Romine, Minot (1998)
Ervin Ely, Bismarck (1996)
Lee Halvorson, Williston (1995)
Donald Bauer, Valley City (1994)