October 29, 2013 1:30 pm


The 2013 NDHSAA football season marks the 10th anniversary of the 2003 campaign, which was capped off by four championship contests that were played during Dakota Bowl XI at the FargoDome. 

Linton-HMB, Cavalier, and West Fargo all completed back-to-back to championship seasons in 2003, while Velva-Sawyer captured their third crown in four years.

9-Man – Linton-HMB 24, New Rockford-Sheyenne 14

Junior quarterback Kyle Carr and the Lion-Tigers withstood a Dakota Bowl record 21 pass completions from New Rockford-Sheyenne quarterback Michael Cudworth to capture the 9-man championship.  The victory capped an undefeated season for Linton-HMB and extended their winning streak to 21 games.

Division A – Velva-Sawyer 20, LaMoure-Litchville-Marion-Verona 13

Despite having only four seniors on the entire roster, Velva-Sawyer and head coach Larry Sandy rode junior running back Matt Kittelson to the Division A title.  The Aggies avenged a regular season loss to defending state champion Stanley-Powers Lake in the state semi-finals before holding off previously unbeaten LaMoure-Litchville-Marion-Verona in the final.

Division AA – Cavalier 28, Dickinson Trinity 7

Cavalier defeated Dickinson Trinity in a rematch of the 2002 title game.  Behind future University of North Dakota star wide receiver Brady Trenbeath, the Tornadoes were dominant in defeating all twelve opponents by 21 or more points during the 2003 campaign, extending their unbeaten streak to 24 games along the way.

Division AAA – West Fargo 45, Bismarck 21

West Fargo extended their winning streak to 23 games with a victory over Bismarck.  Behind a dominant ground game led by future North Dakota State star running back Tyler Roehl, the Packers avenged their last loss when the Demons defeated West Fargo in the 2002 season opener.

Check www.ndhsaanow.com throughout the 2013-14 school year for more “Turn Back the Clock” features.