2010-11 NDHSAA/US Bank Distinguished Student

Elizabeth Ryan, a Junior at Ray High School, was named the 2010-2011 North Dakota High School Activities Association/US Bank Distinguished Student at interviews held for the six finalists in Valley City on the morning of May 7th.

Julia Scherbenske of Kidder County High School (Steele) was chosen first runner-up. The other finalists are David Lunde of Griggs County Central High School (Cooperstown), Adam Boe of Fargo South High School, Janna Johnson of Northwood High School and Kayla Haugen of North Star High School (Cando). The six finalists were selected from the original fifty-nine applications sent in by high school principals around the state.

US Bank is the supporting partner in this program and funds $5000 worth of scholarships provided  the six finalists.  Elizabeth Ryan received a $2000 scholarship for being named the NDHSAA/US Bank Distinguished Student and the first runner-up, Julia Scherbenske, received a $1000 scholarship.  The other four finalists each received a $500 scholarship. 

The goal for the Distinguished Student Award program is to recognize deserving high school juniors who are the "backbone" of interscholastic activities. Each nominee may not be the "super star" in any specific activity, but they have demonstrated their leadership.

The Distinguished Student Award program recognizes outstanding high school juniors for their activity participation and leadership within their schools and communities. These students were chosen because they are in many school activities and have been positive role models and peer motivators. These students are willing to share their gifts by tutoring, leading, or by just rolling up their sleeves and helping get things done!

These finalists were the top six of fifty-eight juniors statewide that were nominated by their schools in March.

All six Distinguished Students received an all-expense paid trip to Indianapolis to attend the 2010 National Federation Student Leadership Conference at the Indianapolis Hilton in July.

The six finalists were also student ambassadors for the NDHSAA this spring and during the next school year. They will be invited to help present awards at various events as well as lead the “Parade of Champions” held in March of each year. They will also help promote High School Activities Week, and the values of high school activities participation.

The North Dakota High School Activities Association and US Bank are proud to announce the finalists for the 2010-2011 Distinguished Student Award. These students have been selected from an outstanding group of juniors from across the state.  The following students were honored as their school's 2010-2011 Distinguished Student and submitted to the NDHSAA for consideration as the State Distinguished Student:

Danni Askew, Bismarck High School

Kayla Graber, Bottineau High School

Noelle Braaten, Carrington High School

Wendlin Berger, Center-Stanton High School

Taylor Kraft, Central Cass High School

Jessica Henningsgard, Central Valley High School

Jessica Steinwand, Century High School

Braydon Gourneau, Dakota Prairie High School

Matthew Davy, Des Lacs-Burlington High School

Lacey Harper, Devils Lake High School

Clare Geinert, Edgeley High School

McKenzie Betting, Ellendale High School

Justin Bartholomay, Enderlin High School

Taylor Palmer, Finley-Sharon High School

Jennifer Erickson, Grand Forks Central High School

Ryan  Christianson, Grand Forks Red River High School

David Lunde, Griggs County High School

Kelsey Fike, Harvey High School

Lindsey Voller, Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock High School

Sarah Grimm, Hazen High School

Brady Stallman, Hillsboro High School

Erin Bjerke, Hope-Page High School

Julia Scherbenske, Kidder County High School

Ben Pelton, Killdeer High School

Justine Simonson, Lakota High School

Dylan Crockett, Langdon High School

Jake Abel, Larimore High School

Clancy Hennessy, Lewis & Clark High School

Moriah Skroch, Lidgerwood High School

Lyndsey Person, Litchville-Marion High School

Tyler  Ust, May-Port CG High School

Aaron Moser, Medina High School

Philip Schanilec, Midway High School

Paige Tompkins, Milnor High School

DeLayna Bueligen, New Salem High School

Larissa Reck, North Border High School

Kayla Haugen, North Star High School

Hope Erickson, Northern Cass High School

Janna Johnson, Northwood High School

Katelyn Webster, Our Redeemer's High School

Taylor Schlenk, Park River High School

Regan Christenson, Parshall High School

Samantha Jorgenson, Powers Lake High School

Elizabeth Ryan, Ray High School

Zachary Rummel, Richardton-Taylor High School

Nathan Joraanstad, Rolla High School

John Breker, Sargent Central High School

Adam Boe, South High School

Amanda Wentz, St. Mary's High School

Geena Leschisin, Stanley High School

BriAnna Menge, Thompson High School

Amy Lee, Turtle Lake-Mercer High School

Tamara Heidelberger, Underwood High School

Alison Anderson, Valley City High School

Josh Sandy, Velva High School

Tyler R. Flatland, Watford City High School

Cambria Slaubaugh, Wolford High School

Dani Buskohl, Wyndmere High School


Updated 05/04/2016