2012-13 NDHSAA/Farmer's Union Insurance Distinguished Students

2012/13 Distinguished Students: (From left) Zach Peterson,  Grafton HS; Dominick Goettle, Bismarck St. Mary’s HS, (2012-2013 Runner Up);  Mandi Egeland, Grand Forks Red River HS (2012-2013 Distinguished Student); Carly Bertsch, Davies HS; Austin Mack, Dickinson HS; Jasmine Kreft, Williston Trinity Christian HS; Mark Anderson, North Dakota Farmer's Union Insurance General Manager

2012/13 NDHSAA/Farmers' Union Distinguished Student

Mandi Egeland a junior at Grand Forks Red River High School, was named the 2012-2013 North Dakota High School Activities Association/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student at interviews held for the six finalists in Valley City on the morning of May 4th.

Dominick Goettle of St. Mary’s High School, BIsmarck was chosen first runner-up. The other finalists are Carly Bertsch of Fargo Davies High School, Austin Mack, Dickinson High School, Zach Peterson, Grafton High School, and Jasmine Kreft, Williston Trinity Christian High School.

 The six finalists were selected from the original thirty-seven applications sent in by high school principals around the state.

Farmers Union Insurance is the supporting partner in this program and funds $5000 worth of scholarships provided  the six finalists.  Mandi Egeland received a $2000 scholarship for being named the NDHSAA/ Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student and the first runner-up, Dominick Goettle, received a $1000 scholarship.  The other four finalists each received a $500 scholarship.  

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student program was developed to recognize deserving young people who are the “backbone” of interscholastic activities, not necessarily the leader, but the individual whose participation in high school activities strengthens the program for participants, the school and the community. Applicants are students entering their senior year. The student must be a participant as a player, manager, statistician or other role in at least one NDHSAA sponsored activity. The student must be a good citizen and role model to his/her peers as well as a contributor to their school and community.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student recipient is invited to be the Grand Marshall of the NDHSAA “Parade of Champions” as well as participating in other activities such as serving as the NDHSAA spokesperson for High School Activities Month, promoting the values of activity programs and participating in awarding of trophies at major NDHSAA state contests. Other finalists are published in the Bulletin and receive recognition in connection with NDHSAA events.

The following students were honored as their school’s 2012-2013 Distinguished Student and submitted to the NDHSAA for consideration as the State Distinguished Student:

Kaitlyn Gottbreht, Bottineau High School
Nikki Braaten, Carrington High School
Carly Bertsch, Davies High School
Austin Mack, Dickinson High School
Andi Lefor, Dickinson Trinity High School
Lexie Unhjem, Divide County High School
Sandi Kruse, Drake-Anamoose High School
Hallie Anderson, Edgeley High School
Taylor Deem, GF Central High School
Mandi Egeland, GF Red River High School
Zach Peterson, Grafton High School
Todd Selzler, Harvey High School
Brandon Hill, Hettinger High School
Rachel Erickson, Hope-Page High School
Jordan Mayer, Kidder County High School
Dylan Schnabel, Kulm High School
Chris Miller, Lakota High School
Matthew Gapp, Langdon Area High School
Joline Manikowski, Lidgerwood High School
Sarah Lorenz, May-Port CG High School
Karly Doll, New Salem-Almont High School
Lakyn Sandness, North Sargent High School
Hunter Heyerman, Northern Cass High School
Mackenzie Schwartz, Northwood High School
Cole Rehovsky, Park River High School
Madeleinne Zacher, Parshall High School
Sarah Munro, Rolla High School
Mikayla Forness, Shiloh Christian High School
Jacob Lynch, South High School
Dominick Goettle, St. Mary's High School
Bailey Hawbaker, Stanley High School
Maggie Nistler, Thompson High School
Jasmine Kreft, Trinity Christian High School
Samantha Cottingham, Underwood High School
Emma Keller, Velva High School
Tara Loomer, Watford City High School
Marley Foertsch, Wyndmere

Past Distinguished Student Recipients

Updated 03/30/2022