2015-16 NDHSAA/Farmer's Union Insurance Distinguished Students

2015/16 NDHSAA/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student and Runner-up:  (From left) Runner-up Madelyn, Hankinson High School;  Mark Anderson, North Dakota Farmer's Union Insurance General Manager; 2015-16 Distinguished Student Jordyn Hetland, Wyndmere High School.

Past Distinguished Student Recipients

2015/16 NDHSAA/Farmers' Union Distinguished Student

Jordyn Hetland, a junior at Wyndmere High School, was named the 2015-2016 North Dakota High School Activities Association/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student. Interviews were held for the finalists in Valley City on the morning of May 1.

Madelyn Jean of Hankinson High School, was chosen runner-up. The other finalists are Keaton Erickson-Carrington High School, Ben Hanson-Jamestown High School, Abby Randall-Kidder County – Steele High School, and James Schmidt-Bismarck St. Mary’s High School.

The six finalists were selected from the original sixty-two applications sent in by high school principals around the state.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student program was developed to recognize deserving young people who are the “backbone” of interscholastic activities, not necessarily the leader, but the individual whose participation in high school activities strengthens the program for participants, the school and the community. Applicants are students entering their senior year. The student must be a participant as a player, manager, statistician or other role in at least one NDHSAA sponsored activity. The student must be a good citizen and role model to his/her peers as well as a contributor to his/her school and community.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student recipient receives a medallion and a Farmers Union Insurance sponsored $2,000 scholarship to the college of his/her choice. He/she is invited to be the Grand Marshall of the NDHSAA “Parade of Champions” as well as participating in other activities such as serving as the NDHSAA spokesperson for High School Activities Month, promoting the values of activity programs and participating in awarding of trophies at major NDHSAA state contests. The runner-up will receive a medallion and a $1,000 scholarship. The other four finalists receive a medallion, a $500 scholarship to the college of his/her choice, publication in the Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events.

The following students were honored as their school’s 2015-2016 Distinguished Student and submitted to the NDHSAA for consideration as the State Distinguished Student:

Megan Fix, Bottineau High School
Keaton Erickson, Carrington High School
Casey Christianson, Cavalier High School
Jack Morris, Central Cass High School
Bradyn Sand, Dakota Prairie High School
Kyla Grandy, Des Lacs Burlington High School
Hanna Pesek, Devils Lake High School
Willy Jahner, Dickinson Trinity High School
Lee Reinowski, Drake-Anamoose High School
Jalyn Larson, Drayton High School
Graham Hurlburt, Enderlin High School
Heidi Bertsch, Fargo Davies High School
Alexis Vannett, Fargo North High School
Sarah Jacobson, Fargo Shanley High School
David Youngs, Fargo South High School
Jade Olson, Fordville-Lankin High School
Taya Bandle, Glen Ullin High School
Grace Roehl, Grand Forks Central High School
Mari Rustebakke, Grand Forks Red River High School
Autumn Alt, Grant County High School
Madelyn Jean, Hankinson High School
Isaiah Merrill, Harvey High School
Jonah Zimmerman, Hazen High School
Lizzy Thompson, Hettinger High School
Bailey Baesler, Hillsboro High School
Ben Hanson, Jamestown High School
Abby Randall, Kidder County - Steele High School
Paige Schmidt, Kidder County - Tappen High School
Colton Christmann, Kindred High School
Lauren Anderson, Lakota High School
Quinn Alo, LaMoure High School
Ali Gellner, Langdon High School
Reece Johnson, Larimore High School
Taylor Simons, Lewis and Clark High School - Berthold
Bethany Oster, Lidgerwood High School
Emilee Hansen, Lisbon High School
Kyle O’Brien, May-Port CG High School
Joseph Vollmer, Midkota High School
Sheyenne Schmidt, Minot Bishop Ryan High School
Allison Voigt, MLS Mohall High School
Katelyn Long, Napoleon High School
Marc Bluestone, New Town High School
Aric Berg, North Border High School
Joseph Greenmyer, North Sargent High School
Jacob Bilden, Northwood High School
Peyton Cole, Park River High School
Antonio Malnourie, Parshall High School
Elizabeth Bohn, Richardton Taylor High School
Heather Brown, Rolette High School
Jacob Loing, Rolla High School
Shea Heidlebaugh, Rugby High School
Jade Schmidt, St. Mary’s Central High School
Brenna Logie, Starkweather High School
Shaice Marx, Thompson High School
Leah Kibbel, Underwood High School
John Halgrimson, Valley City High School
Whitney Welder, Wahpeton High School
Mykin Gunning, West Fargo High School
Kaitlyn Kuntz, West Fargo Sheyenne High School
Jon Heth, Westhope High School
Kate Fox, Wing High School
Hunter Pinke, Wishek High School
Jordyn Hetland, Wyndmere High School


Updated 03/30/2022