Dickinson wins 2021 NDHSAA Class A Softball State Championship

June 5, 2021 6:00 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

MANDAN – The Dickinson High softball team broke through on Saturday, June 5 at Fort Lincoln Softball Field in Mandan.

After three previous times playing in a NDHSAA Class A softball state championship game without a win, the Midgets fourth shot proved to be the one that ended with players and coaches celebrating with trophy in hand.

Dickinson defeated Bismarck High 10-0 in five innings on Saturday. The Midgets were runners up in 2015, 2016, and 2018.

The Midgets were led in the pitching circle by junior Mataya Mortensen who struck out five and allowed just two hits and one walk in five innings of work.

At the plate the Midgets were led by freshman Eva Jahner who was 3-for-3 with two runs scored and two RBIs. Sophomore designated hitter Amy Fridley was 2-for-3 with two runs scored and two RBIs.

Mortensen helped her own cause going 2-for-4 with two RBIs and a run scored.

Earlier Saturday, West Fargo High defeated Jamestown 10-9 in the fifth-place game and Bismarck Century defeated Valley City 2-1 in the third-place game.


Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.