NDHSAA Throwback Thursday: 2004 Bismarck High grad Weston Dressler signed deal with Winnipeg Blue Bombers in 2016

January 26, 2023 5:00 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – Each Thursday NDHSAA Media Specialist Tom Mix posts a “Throwback Thursday” featured news story highlighting a championship team, a specific tournament/event or significant individual(s) from NDHSAA history on the NDHSAA NOW website. Keep visiting each Thursday!

NDHSAA Throwback Thursday: The Winnipeg Blue Bombers of the Canadian Football League (CFL) announced the signing of 2004 Bismarck High graduate and former University of North Dakota football standout Weston Dressler to a two year deal on January 26, 2016.

Following eight seasons with the Saskatchewan Roughriders (2008-2015), 2004 Bismarck High graduate Weston Dressler was on the move.

Dressler, a wide receiver, signed with the Roughriders’ biggest CFL rival the Winnipeg Blue Bombers in January of 2016. 

During the 2016 season, Dressler would post 80 receptions for 1,003 yards – the sixth 1,000-yard receiving season of his career.

In total, Dressler played three seasons with Winnipeg before retiring following the 2018 season. 

Dressler caught a total of 715 passes for 10,026 yards and 61 receiving touchdowns during his CFL career.

Got a cool North Dakota High School Sports “Throwback Thursday” idea? Email the material/details to tom.mix@ndhsaa.org

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.