Jamestown's Mason Walters wins NDAPSSA Mr. Basketball Award

March 16, 2019 11:00 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

MINOT – Jamestown’s Mason Walters was named North Dakota’s Mr. Basketball on Saturday, March 16 following the Class B boys basketball state championship game at the Minot State Dome.

The North Dakota Mr. Basketball Award is presented and voted on by members of the the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

Walters helped lead Jamestown to a 27-0 record this winter and a 2019 NDHSAA Class A boys basketball state championship. Jamestown defeated Fargo Davies 66-49 in the Class A title game on March 9 at the Bismarck Event Center.

Walters averaged a double-double this season with 21.1 points and 11.6 rebounds per game.

Other finalists for the 2019 ND Mr. Basketball Award were Bismarck Century’s Treyton Mattern, Fargo Davies’ Braeton Motschenbacher, West Fargo’s Luke Lennon, Grafton’s Dalton Albrecht and Bishop Ryan’s Ben Bohl.

Members of the NDAPSSA determine the finalists for the annual award given to the the state’s top senior high school boys basketball player.

A 5-3-1 points system is used to decide the winner with each NDAPSSA member voting for their top three choices.

Past Mr. Basketball Award Winners:

2019: Mason Walters, Jamestown

2018: Wyatt Hanson, Stanley

2017: Aanen Moody, Dickinson

2016: Jason Feather, Four Winds/Minnewaukan

2015: Brad Heidlebaugh, Rugby

2014: Tanner Kretchman, Fargo Davies

2013: A.J. Jacobson

2012: Melvin Langstaff, Warwick

2011: Phillip Schanilec, Midway-Minto

2010: Adam Randall, Kidder County

2009: Cameron Malzer, Turtle Lake-Mercer

2008: Austin Dufault, Killdeer

2007: Brian Qvale, Williston

2006: Travis Mertens, Devils Lake

2005: James Hennessy, Williston

2004: Lucas Moormann, Dickinson

2003: Tyler Koenig, Fargo North

2002: Tommy Leikas, Fargo North

2001: Adam Dobmeier, Fargo South

2000: Tyrone Terry, Valley City

1999: Jeff Brandt, Minot

1998: Jeff Boschee, Valley City

1997: Travis Sturdevant, Bismarck Century

1996: Kenny Younger, Minot

1995: Hunter Berg, Grenora

1994: Dustin Undlin, Mohall

1993: Randy Torgrimson, West Fargo

1992: Mart McDonald, Munich

1991: Bart Manson, Minot

1990: Rob Stefonowicz, Divide County

1989: (Co-winners) Chris Gardner, Fargo South; Ben Jacobson (Mayville-Portland)

1988: Scott Guldseth, Edinburg

1987: Bryan Flam, Jamestown

1986: Todd Olson, Cavalier

1985: (Co-winners) Chris Lamoureux, Newburg; Juno Pintar, Fargo North

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.